Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2001 Yukon Dies

Tankrat
06-01-2004, 10:31 AM
I've got a friend with an '01 GMC Yukon that's giving him trouble right now. It's a 2500 with a 6.0, 2wd. It's been dying on him every time he drives it. When he backs out of his parking space, he has to turn to the left and when he hits the brakes, it dies. It has died on him several times slowing down for traffic lights and even a couple times just putting it in gear. It idles at 500 RPM's which I thought was kinda strange to start with, and when you mash the gas it hesitates for about a second before reving up, but if you give it gas slowly it's fine. Sometimes when you hit the gas and let off, it almost dies, but usually bottoms out around 200 rpms before coming back up to 500. He's got fly-by-wire throttle control (sorry, I'm an Air Force mechanic, that's the best way I can describe it) and I'm kinda wondering if maybe that could be part of his problem. It's almost like when you hit the gas quick, it's taking a while for the signal to get to the throttle body. His fuel filter isn't plugged bad at all but he ordered a new one anyways (we're stationed in Germany so parts aren't readily available), his air filter is less than a month old, I'm going to check his throttle body for buildup but other than that I'm kinda at a loss with these newer vehicles and the auto hobby shop on base said they can't get him in to run diagnostics on it anytime in the next 2 MONTHS!! This is his only vehicle and he has two kids under the age of 3, need to get it running right asap so it doesn't leave him stranded on the autobahn! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

denalio34ceo
06-01-2004, 05:35 PM
Is the "Check Engine" light on? Clean the throttle body and check the EGR valve. Is it only happening at low speeds? During highway driving is it running smoothly? Could be the fuel injectors too.

Tankrat
06-01-2004, 06:18 PM