Brake light ? 96 Chevy Lumina

heymax
05-30-2004, 07:42 PM
When I press my Brakes, only the top brake light in the back window comes on. I have no lights out. The only thing that I can link it too is that when you adjust the Steering wheel, Up or down, they work sometimes. I looked under the dash and I found no frayed wires. I still think the problem is somewhere near the steering column. I've replaced all my light bulbs and when you press the brake pedal, the switich under the dash does activate and only 1 brake light comes on. Any Suggestions? I don't want to bring it to a mechanic yet if it is something simple. Thanks..Max

sysopt
05-31-2004, 04:38 AM
I'm just an amateur mechanic, but I'll bet its the turn signal switch. Its very possible the switch is busted, and therefore no regular brake lights and at the same time the center high mounted light still works because its an independent circuit. The switches on the column are SH*T!!

heymax
05-31-2004, 01:55 PM
I'm just an amateur mechanic, but I'll bet its the turn signal switch. Its very possible the switch is busted, and therefore no regular brake lights and at the same time the center high mounted light still works because its an independent circuit. The switches on the column are SH*T!!
I checked that out and you are correct. I did a test and I applied the brake many times doing different things like with the wheel up and down and right and left and then I turn on my right turn signal and my brake lights worked but when I put it back at center, they didn't, and then i turned on my left turn signal and the right brake light worked but the left did not. All my signals work fine but there must be a wire connection from the main brake lights to the turn signal switch. I too am a amateur mechanic and I really have never had to mess with turn signal switches before so this is new ground for me. Thank you very much for your input. I'm going to check out the price for a new switch. Thanks

heymax
06-06-2004, 01:03 PM