Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

B18c1 swap into 99 civic ex

zerosilver19
05-23-2004, 09:50 PM
Hi i'm new to this automotiveforums.com but not new to the import world, but i am new to engine swapping. I have a 99 civic ex 5spd witht he d-series motor in it non vtec and i wanted to swap a b18c1 vtec engine in to it form a jdm website. the swap comes complete and i know what i need, but what i dont know what i need is will i need to get new engine mounts or can i use my old ones. also will i need something extra for the wiring? With the motor i plan to turbocharge it with a turbo kit from www.full-race.com arent thos manifolds sweet lookin? :icon16:

zerosilver19
05-23-2004, 09:51 PM
oh and also whats a better intake since i want an aftermarket intake before i turbo it so i dont have to use the stock one. my choices are injen cold air or aem cold air.

95TegSE
05-24-2004, 03:48 AM
oh and also whats a better intake since i want an aftermarket intake before i turbo it so i dont have to use the stock one. my choices are injen cold air or aem cold air.
Cheap Ebay intake with a K&N filter serves the purpose. Only thing different about AEM and Injen is the fact that they have CARB stickers. So if you're worried about being pulled over, you should probably go with name brand.

civicHBsi91
05-24-2004, 05:28 AM
Do more research.....

You didnt even know your car is equiped with vtec, the engine code is d16y8 and it is a single cam "SOHC" vtec.

zerosilver19
05-24-2004, 11:37 AM
Well if its a vtec then wouldnt it say on the valve cover? thats what made me believe it wasnt, but then again it does sometimes pull like one.

zerosilver19
05-24-2004, 11:46 AM
and woulndt there be a vtec solinod on the pass side of the motor...

95TegSE
05-24-2004, 01:04 PM