Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

What is drifting and drag racing?

DRIV3R
05-16-2004, 03:57 PM
Ok this may sound really stupid and im a newbie but seriously, what is drifting and drag racing? I hear people on the GT3 forum mention it lots but i have no idea what they are. can sum1 explain?

gigglesnirt
05-16-2004, 05:21 PM
you dont know wut drag racing is? thats just kinda wierd, but drifting i can understand if ya dont know, its when coming up to a turn, you brake as much as neccessary, then shift to aboot, 2-3 depedning on car and turn, then it should slide if your car settings are correct and wutever, you just have to control that for as long, or as short as you want. ask other people im not to good at explaining, just doing

Howielong
05-16-2004, 06:19 PM
Yes giiglesnirt said it all. He is a drifter at heart. Check my sig for some drifting. Not real cars but close and it gives you what it is all about.

SynikalFan
05-18-2004, 09:45 AM
Drifting is its own sport for goddness sake. Its the ability to make ur car slide horizontal around corners of race tracks. problem is its more for show, because you'll gain a couple of seconds if ur racing

slyguy
05-19-2004, 07:34 AM
If you want to see some real drifting, ya gotta go to japan and check out the rizzle dizzle. Fo shizzle.:nutkick:

driftu
05-23-2004, 06:41 PM
drifting if done right is as fast if not faster then a grip style. drift is alot more fine and requires more control over the throttle. each have their place in the racing world. haipins are made for teh drift and long sweeping double appex corners are better to grip. either way it all about getting that rush, even if it is just in a game

xyfalconsrock
05-25-2004, 05:29 AM
I suggest taking off traction control but leaving anti-skid on.then get urself a high torque car(cobra,mustang)then it's easy just lead into a cornor and about halfway around the corner and floor it.The car should lurch out and the car will get sideways.its the best fun!