Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

where to start???...sorry im a noob

BlackCiv00
05-11-2004, 11:05 AM
Hi All, lets see if i can get some help from you guys. I own a 2000 Civic EX that i just finished paying off. So far nothing has been put into the engine/car pther than an AEM CAI. I want to make my car a bit faster.....im not a racer mind you, more of a ricer :eek7: (sorry to say that....hopefully no one will bash me for being a ricer). I am not looking to gaining a shit load of HP....i have read that installing a turbo will give me 50HP off the back...which i would not mind having at all. My question to you turbo guys is.....where should i start before installing a turbo?? i have read from guys in this forum that they recommend people custom make their turbos rather than buying a turbo kit. I honestly think that i would go with the kit since i have little to no knowledge of turbos....i just know that they make you go fast. People also have mentioned ratios and a whole bunch of other stuff. i have been reading the turbo tech 101 thread but all that to me sounds like "wa-wa wa-wa-wa wa-wa".....sorry i have no understanding and sorry if i am wating anyones time. hope ya can help. thanks

---on another note, i will be putting in a Magna flow cat-back exhaust and a high flow cat this June.....am i in the right direction?

MexSiR
05-11-2004, 12:47 PM
Well, a turbo can give you a lot more than 50 horsepower. A stock greddy turbo kit gives your engine around 70 horsepower at the crank. Crank horsepower is what is advertised on magazines. That is...putting the kit on the stock engine. If you upgrade your fueling system and other things the kit can push 100 or more horsepower. The magna flow exahaust is good...even if you decide on the turbo itll help you.

Tranzlogic
05-12-2004, 05:10 PM
i wouldny go magna flow, and a high flow cat is a waste of money in my opinion ...