Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

display case

sugarfree
04-20-2004, 11:31 PM
hi guys, dunno whether someone already point it out or not, just joined recently. *prepared to get flamed...!!

to the topic, yeah... is it worthed to make the display case by our self? what sort of material do we need? i dont wanna go to glass material. they are more expensive than acrylic and fragile (!!).

whats the best solution and how do i make it?

thx a bunch people.

911S_TARGA_RSR
04-20-2004, 11:34 PM
look online for a little display case it will cost at the least $20.

sugarfree
04-21-2004, 12:04 AM
yea... done that, but unfortunately, i live cross the pacific, in new zealand to be precise. the shipping cost wud b massive, dont they? i was thinking if i might be able to make my own display case, i'll make one that can fit couple cars in a row.

ive got this idea from making a fish tank. im pretty sure it will ended up fairly cheaper. considering im a full time uni student and dont have much money on my hand.

jgmodelcars
04-21-2004, 12:10 AM
you can buy individual plasic cases for each model they're about 7$US , they work good i like them.

sugarfree
04-21-2004, 03:55 PM
hey,thats cheap. where did u find it? internet?? whats normally the shipping cost from US accross the pacific, say NZ or Australia? if the shipping cost is dead expensive, ill forget it... :(

yellow15
04-21-2004, 05:13 PM
Where about in NZ are you SugarFree?
some hobby shops here in Auckland have the display case for sale. And i know a guy who makes custom glass display case and the price is reasonable

sugarfree
04-22-2004, 04:08 AM
im in akl, for real. there are some, i also know a shop (so far) that can order display case. i cnt remember whether its glass or acrylic. it's "ace hobby" in birkenhead. they got nz$69-ish for a box that can fit 3 1/24th cars. never tried it or seen it before... even in-store. they dont have the big one on display. so yea... keep wondering for cheap one.