Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Engine Stumbles When Coasting

creslevi
04-17-2004, 05:37 PM
I HAVE A 94 BUICK LESABRE 3.8 V6 WITH 207,000
MILES ON IT AND ITS THE MOST DEPENDABLE CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED, BUT!!! NOW THE QUESTION ABOUT THE 100,000 MILE MARK THE ENGINE STARTED TO STUMBLE WHEN YOU ARE OFF THE THROTTLE JUST COASTING, I HAVE REPLACED THE PLUGS AND WIRES AND PUT A COUPLE CANS OF OCTANE BOOST 108 THRU IT BUT THAT HAS'NT HELPED, I GET ABOUT 25 MPG AND IT RUNS GREAT WHEN I GET ON IT, OCCASIONALLY IT WILL JUST DIE IN TRAFFIC BUT SO FAR AT LEAST IT RESTARTS AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN NUETRAL AND START WHILE STILL ROLLING, ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL BE APPRECIATED THANKS RICK

tman
04-18-2004, 12:37 AM
WHEN YOU HAVE THE CAPS LOCK ON, IT'S LIKE SHOUTING ON THE INTERNET, AND SHOWS ANGER. YOU DO NOT SEEM ANGRY, SO PLEASE TURN THE CAPS LOCK OFF.

creslevi
04-18-2004, 01:38 AM
Sorry about the caps lock, I am very new at this posting routine and still trying to figure out how it all works.
Rick

tman
04-18-2004, 12:59 PM
Thats cool, sorry I cant help. It may be the coil packs, but I'd send it to a dealer to have them look at it.

btw, congrats on 200,000 miles, these engines last forever if you take care of them! My park has 146000 on it, I'm gonna dance on the side of the road when it hits 150!

public
04-25-2004, 07:55 PM
You may also check the torque converter clutch solenoid.

DGary
04-26-2004, 07:55 PM
That sounds like the same problem I am having with my 94 Le Sabre with 215.000 miles on it. It feels like it is trying to run out of gas and on the freeway, it will quit completely but always restarts fine.

creslevi
04-26-2004, 11:00 PM
Hi
My lesabre has 208,000 miles on it, and also has died a couple timels always while kinda coastin,g never under power or acceleration and it also restarts fine soo far, thats what worries me that maybe the next time it won't !!!??. So far I am stumped as to why ?.