Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Advanced 3vz Trouble - Experts please help

dafried1
04-13-2004, 09:32 PM
Hi All,

I just completed a head replacement, including all the related headaches, on my rig (see below). It took me forever, as I am a hobbyist with lots of cool tools, not a mechanic with lots of knowledge.

I have a strange symptom - The engine runs smooth and I am generally very happy with the repair. However, after the engine warms up, I get a terrible sluggish, bogged down feeling when accelerating. This happens usually in city driving, so I suspect tranny stuff. I bought this truck new in California, so it is full of CA smog stuff. I almost always find problems with vacuum, but this one is perplexing.

Here's the best part: If I turn off the motor - even for a couple of seconds - it starts right up and runs smooth with no hesitation.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Tomsriv
04-14-2004, 12:53 AM
The computer resets and rechecks the sensors when you restart. Maybe it has a bad sensor. I would check the codes. To check them pop the diagnostic cover and connect two terminals. I believe they are labeled TE1 and E1. Stick a paperclip between the two and the check engine light will flash the codes.

dafried1
04-14-2004, 08:02 AM
Thanks for joining in, Tom.

I am familiar with the procedure for retreiving codes. I didn't think that I could get a code if the OD OFF light wasn't flashing.

I'll try it anyway and let you know.

Thanks,

Brian R.
04-14-2004, 10:41 AM
Since the problem is heat-related, you might consider looking at the engine coolant temperature sensor and seeing if it is within spec.

dafried1
04-14-2004, 01:03 PM
Thanks - I am working thru an EGR error code right now. I hate that block of hoses and electrical connectors at the back of the engine block up against the firewall. Every procedure is a hassle. Of course, that's why my problem is likely to be there :)

Thanks,

dafried1
04-15-2004, 01:07 PM
Problem solved.