Turn Signal works occasionally

thehein5
03-18-2004, 08:08 PM
We have a 96 t&c. The turn signals only work once in a while. Sometimes they start to work and then freeze. Sometimes they don't work at the beginning of a ride and start to work 10 minutes into it. It seems quite random. Does anyone know what the problem might be and if you do, could you be very specific as I am a novice repairman. Thanks so much!

RAHBABY
07-01-2004, 11:49 AM
I Have The Exact Same Problem In My 96 T&c, Any Ideas On How To Solve It???

ylime77
09-14-2004, 12:27 PM
I Have The Exact Same Problem In My 96 T&c, Any Ideas On How To Solve It???

Did you ever get a resolution to this? I have the same problem.

stefanosa
09-16-2004, 07:17 PM
I have experienced similar problems with the turn signal working intermittently on my 96 t&c. I replaced the turn signal switch assembly to no success (wasted $75).

After reading a solution-thread for a similar problem; I directed my attention to the combination (flasher module) turn signal / hazard flasher module which is located in the fuse junction block under the dash near the emergency brake release.

To access the Junction Block, loosen the two finger screws of the access cover located above the brake pedal. The combination flasher module is the larger module located in the upper right hand corner.

All I did was wiggle the module and the turn signal worked, ... for now anyway. If I have to replace the module, a dealer quoted a replacement at $45 (part #4686094).

The above procedure is listed in the Haynes Repair Manual.

***They issue a warning to disconnect the neg battery cable and wait at least 2 minutes to avoid possible accidental deployment of airbag of which could cause personal injury***.

Hope this leads you in a direction to remedy your problem.

jamoosee
12-20-2004, 08:13 PM
Did your turn signals finally start working properly ?? I am having the same problem.

stefanosa
12-21-2004, 03:47 PM