Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Installing my new stereo

DannMann99
03-11-2004, 08:01 PM
Okay, i just got a new stereo for my 94 cavalier. The car never had any previous stereo in it so everything im putting in from scratch. I got a pyle audio cd player, ( http://www.pyleaudio.com/itemdetail.asp?brand=pyle&cat1=Car%20Audio&cat2=Radios&model=PLCD38 )
And im wondering how to hook this darn thing up. I plan on getting a wiring harness tomorrow but how do i know where to hook up which wires. which color goes with which? plus, where on this thing to i plug in the speaker wires? the back of the stereo has a RCA audio out, and a RCA AUX in. How do i manage to hook speaker wire up to that?
Please forgive me, im new to car audio. Any help i will greatly appreciate. Thanks.

~Daniel D.M.
~DannMann99@aol.com

SilverJLEclipse
03-11-2004, 08:41 PM
The cd player SHOULD come with a harness that plugs into it or have these wires already sticking out of it:
yellow (constant power)
red (switched power)
black (ground)
blue and blue/white (remote and power antenna)
white & white/black (Front Left)
gray & gray/black (front right)
green & green/black (rear left)
purple & purble/black (rear right)

You should also buy your vehicle specific wire harness (Scosche GM02 I believe, been a while since i worked professionally). To use this your solder or butt connect the stereo harness and this harness by matching colors. Then plug it in to the existing vehicle plug. You may also need an antenna adaptor (Scosche MDA1).

The rca are used for an amplifier (out) or for an auxilary audio source such as mp3 player or satellite radio.
Hope this helps

DannMann99
03-11-2004, 10:14 PM