Best car for a starting tuner?

ricergribbs
03-07-2004, 09:13 PM
hey all, im new to tuning and i was just wondering whats the best car to modify for a low budget? im going off to college this year, so i need to save, but i still want to have fun. i would like to have a drag/street racing car and not use nitrous. i was thinking that a 1st generation mitsubishi eclipse would be perfect. i could get the turbo model for about $500 and then get a greddy turbo kit for it, and from what ive heard they can handle lots of boost on stock internals. my other idea was a 68-74 chevy nova. i could get a rolling chasis for about 500-1000 and then get a small block 350 for it. i would probably end up wanting to really build this car up though before i drove it, so it would be a while before it was running. but the thing that is kind of detering me from this is that i want a sleeper car. i figure that by the time id be done with them, the eclipse could run 12's, and the nova high 10's. ive talked with some of my friends and a few mechanics and they say this is pretty achievable. what do you guys think? any other ideas for cheap cars to modify?

freakonaleash1187
03-07-2004, 11:02 PM
what is your idea of cheap? by what you are saying about making an eclipse do a 12, then cheap means pretty expensive. but if you are looking for a cheap car and mod it, then for under 8k you can get a 300zx and make it fast with little mods.

ricergribbs
03-07-2004, 11:38 PM
im going off of what i have been told here. but ive heard that the eclipse internals could handle up to like 500hp. so i was thinking to get a new turbo, intercooler, exhaust, and some fuel mods. the car itself would cost me about 500. then i could get these mods for about 1500. so for about 2000$ ive been told i could get it down to mid-high 12's.

chevydrummer76
03-08-2004, 01:36 AM
I don't know who told you that but its bs. The mods you listed will cost a lot more than 1500, and I'd say 13's in the 1/4 if you lucky.

klohiq