Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Lift and tires

imagoat23
03-05-2004, 11:59 PM
Hey yall, i'm new to Jeeps and need some information. I Have a 95 4 cylinder YJ and I plan on getting a lift and tires for it soon. Right now everything is completely stock that I know of. I want to get 33" bfgoodrich AT tires. Is a 4" standard Rubicon Express suspension a good suspension? I need it to be good at both on and off-road driving but will be driving it more on the road. Will it fit these tires with no problem? And is this all I need or do I need some other things done at the same time? Also if I do this, will I have to do some regearing? I'm not that great with mechanics so any information will help. Also, feel free to suggest doing something differently. Thanks

windywinters
03-06-2004, 01:32 PM
Yes, a 4" lift will allow you to fit the 33" tires but you will definitely need to re- gear , especially with the 4 cylinder. If you are going to be mainly driving on pavement with occassional jaunts off road, you might be better off with less lift and a 31 " or 32 " tire. That 4 cylinder will really be working hard with those 33" tires, even with lower ( higher numerical ) gearing since it will be turning faster.

doc13ryde
03-06-2004, 05:31 PM
My old 87 wrangler has just a 2" shackle lift on it which cost around $40. and 32"x11.50x15 bfg mud terrain tires on it

doc13ryde
03-06-2004, 05:35 PM
Also, like windywinters said it will slow down your jeep I have the 4.2liter inline 6 and u can tell the difference with and without stock tires

windywinters
03-06-2004, 08:58 PM
You are so right Doc, I have an 89 wrangler with the anemic 2.5 cylinder and I'm running 33 x 12.5 x 15 tires. Even with a header, K&N intake system & 4.11 gearing my engine is working hard on the freeway and forget about uphill. I'm hoping to do a V-8 swap soon so for now I'm living with the tire situation. For the small motor I recommend 31 " or 32" at most.

doc13ryde
03-06-2004, 09:05 PM