Avital Remote start - Radio not working.

krstofer
02-29-2004, 09:58 PM
Hi,
I am a newbie to this forum though not to civics. I always try to do the owrk on my car myself, if I have the right tools. So I got an Avital remote start 4200 for christmas and just put it in, thanks to some warm weather in Jersey. I got it in (for the most part) and it works. But now, the radio does not work.

I have an aftermarket kenwood system I installed myself and the stock radio in the Glove box to keep the keyless entry.

After getting the system in the radio doesn't work. I tested the power wire to the radio and I get 13-14 volts. I also get power from the acc. wire. The ground works because I have the Avital hooked up using the radio's ground.

I haven't checked the fuse box because I don't know which fuse it for the radio. I lost the cover to the glove box somehow.

If anyone has any ideas I would really appreciate it. I am driving around with my wires hangin all over the place!

Thanks,
Krs

ponchonutty
03-02-2004, 08:42 PM
Well, I assume you used a T-harness for the radio instead of hacking things up so that shouldn't be the problem. Now, I would check all the fuses and see if you simply blew something. Make sure the factory radio and the new radio BOTH have good grounds. Does your domelight or fact, keyless work?

SQUOSH
03-02-2004, 10:51 PM
ight let me get this straight the radio doesnt work when u remote start it and when u use the key?? if it doesnt work when u remote start it then u didnt hook up the accesory wire for the remote start if it doesnt work with key either than like the other guy said check all fuses. then go from there

krstofer
03-03-2004, 01:05 PM
It was the fuse. Actually 2 fuses which is why I was so confused. I didn't have the fusebox cover so I h ad to go through each fuse to find hte blown one. Then, since I didn't have the fuse backup I took one from somewhere else to test it. and it worked. So remote start works and the radio works.