Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2000 LeSabre rough initial acceleration (new to AF)

Jaud17
02-04-2004, 10:19 AM
Can anyone help me out? I just traded in a 95 LeSabre for a 2000 LeSabre Custom. I really like the car but I am already wondering if I made a bad decision......

The new car seems to have a pulsing tendency to it. When in idle, it's subtle, but it's almost enough to make me naucious. If I push on the gas slightly while in park, the pulsing gets rougher, not to where it feels violent to the car but it is very obvious. After putting it into gear the pulsing/vibration gets less noticeable, but is still there. When I accelerate slowly, the vibration gets bad again, but once I am at 15-20 mph it subsides. After the initial acceleration, the car rides perfect. It does this at every stoplight, with the engine warm or cold.

I am not a mechanic by any means but could this be a problem, or is it normal of the newer 3.8?

The history on the car, it was originally a rental (possibly driven harder than normal?) It has 50,000 miles.

tman
02-04-2004, 02:35 PM
Change your spark plugs and wires, I think this, because of the intermittant times that it occurs, only when rpms change, not when they stay consant.

xjoeharperx
02-04-2004, 02:40 PM
The rear bank spark plug wires are known to short out beacuse of the heat of the exhaust..make sure when you replace the wires to use the protective boots that are on the original wires..

Jaud17
02-04-2004, 04:33 PM
Thank you both for the advice. I just bought the car from a GM dealer 2 days ago - I would hope this would have been caught by them. The dealer told me "that's just the way it is, nothing is wrong, but you can take it to your mechanic and see what they think." (thanks, jerk)
Would this be a problem that a diagnostics check would find? (bad plug wires) or how do I know if the wires are bad + the car only has 50,000 miles, plug wires wouldn't normally be bad already would they?