Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Transmission Noise When Cold-Ram 1500

Ba24dupont
02-01-2004, 06:08 AM
Hello Everyone, I am new to this but it looks like a great site!!
I have a 2001 ram 1500 w/318 and my transmission makes a noise like a powersteering pump that is low on fluid when I put it into reverse for the first time in the mornings. The noise is louder and can feel it in the truck when it is cold. The colder it is the louder it is. After the truck warms up and is driven, the noise fades to a point that you can barely hear it. In the summer time the noise is real faint. Is anyone having the same problem and if so, what was the outcome??
I appreciate any info on this problem, I'm really concerned!

Thanks.....Bill

DGB454
02-01-2004, 07:37 AM
I don't get the noise but in the winter mine likes to slip out of gear until it's warmed up. I hate to say this but the Ram tranny is just junk. You would think they could have figured out how to build a decent one by now.
Good luck. Hopefully someone will be able to give you the answer.

dano 360
02-01-2004, 02:09 PM
The buzzing whining noise when cold in reverse is pretty normal for the Dodges. Me and alot of guys on the other Dodge boards have it.

Danny

Gabrielc
02-05-2004, 10:22 PM
My 2001 360 does the same but does not affect performance. It is somewhat annoying though. I hope someone comes forward and tells us what the real problem was if they have had this problem fixed. Also, the cost$.

dano 360
02-06-2004, 08:03 PM
Here's a fix for it. But it might take a LITTLE work http://dodgeram.info/tsb/1997/21-11-97.htm

Danny

LTJGWorth
06-25-2004, 09:58 PM