Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

98 Isuzu Rodeo 2.2L Sludged Engine

bmwtxm0
01-16-2004, 08:12 PM
I recently bought a 98 Rodeo S with a 2.2 engine. The oil light will flash at highway speeds when the enigne is warmed up. A mechanic at Isuzu told me the engine is sludged from lack of oil changes. He quoted me a rediculous figure to de-sludge the engine. My questions: What is a good cleaner to use? AND: Does anyone know what needs to be done to clean out the oil intake screen? I think this is a procedure a shade-tree mechanic could do, but I have no experience with Isuzu. I usually change my own oil at 2500 - 3000 miles with a good quality synthetic oil.... :banghead:

rodeo02
01-16-2004, 08:56 PM
A product that I use & have good results with is @ www.lubecontrol.com Pretty good value at about $30/gallon shipped to your door. Another product that many swear by is @ www.auto-rx.com One of the best sites I've found for oil info/concerns/issues is www.bobistheoilguy.com To clean your oil pump pickup screen, you will have to pull the oil pan. This should not be too bad of a job on a 2wd, 2.2L rodeo. I would definately inspect that screen!! Make sure you change the timing belt every 50Kmi on that 2.2 as well!
G/luck
Joel

2001IsuzuRodeo2.2L
01-30-2012, 04:16 PM
Ahhh .... welcome to the World of the Isuzu 2.2L

I have a 2001 Rodeo 2.2L .... and ive been ALL OVER these threads. Below I'll tell you all I've done lately (I went from having never done ANYTHING on a car... to becoming somewhat my own shadetree mechanic through parts on eBay and help on this forum).

If I may recommend... get some SEAFOAM. That stuff worked WONDERS for me.

$10 at WallyWorld (walmart) .... 1/4 bottle in the gas tank. 1/4 bottle in the crankcase (a couple days before oil change) and 1/2 bottle run through the PCV valve.