Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Import Newbie

arcane metal
12-12-2003, 02:41 PM
Hey all,
I got a few questions in the november issue of sport compact car they swaped a h22 engine what exactly are the nubers and letters for? Secondly when trying to modify and engine should one go online or to a store? Lastly what's the best over all cheap but easy to mod car? Thanks a bunch Arcane metal

Oh yeah one more thing what is important about vtec

ArideII
12-12-2003, 03:17 PM
Well, you got a long way to go man, but don't worry so do I cuz I can't necesarily answer your questions :icon16:

For the H22A I am going to take a shot in the dark and say H = Honda 22 = 2.2 litre and A = model type... I am sure I will get corrected though.

Basic mod is of course the Cold Air Intake or simply a better intake system (CAI or I)

V-tec, well I am not technical enough, some one else can handle that.

Welcome to AF

Ispankyourmom
01-03-2004, 03:45 PM
The H is just a series of engine.

The numers that follow are the displacement - D16 is a single overhead cam VTEC that is 1.6 liters of displacement - not really performance oriented - but an excellent cheap replacement motor (can be bought brand new for like $860 complete)

There are also B, K, F, and D series engines.

All of the above are Dual overhead cam engines except for the D series (which is what I've unfortunately got under my hood for now).