Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

dyno tuning question

pbizzlegsr
12-03-2003, 07:42 PM
i currently have a 99 gsr with i/h/e..i have ctr cams that will soon be installed along with aem cam gears..i read everywhere that i should get my car dyno tuned to get max performance..the thing is can i just bring my car to a shop to get it dyno tuned with that setup or do i need some sort of vtec controller like an apexi vafc to use to tune?..im new to tuning so it might be an obvious question..anu recommended places around the bay? besides dsr? thanks

got v-tec?
12-04-2003, 12:34 AM
go get it tuned at a tune shop.

BuyImports
12-05-2003, 02:13 PM
what do cam gears do?

XixGenuinexiX
12-05-2003, 02:32 PM
although i don't know, @BuyImports try not to steal other people's thread

BuyImports
12-05-2003, 02:37 PM
look, i'm new at this whole thing, i don't know how to steal a thread, i don't know what the point of stealing a thread is. I'm sorry if i stole a thread, i'm only on here to try to learn about cars

Spectre927
12-05-2003, 04:16 PM
Its ok to "steal" a thread, but dont mmake a habit of it, Im sure everyone in here has done it. Anyways, now instead of responding to the original thread starters question, Im going to write to yours. Cam gears(adjustable... stay away from DCs) allow you to adjust the timing of the camshafts. You can retard the exhaust and advance the intake allowing them to be open for longer periods of time. It all depends on your setup.

whtteg
12-05-2003, 05:22 PM
Adjustable cam gears also let you set valve overlap too ;)

For the oringinal question yes you will need a Vafc or hondata etc to get the most out of it. But they can also just tune fuel pressure and cam timming to get it better than it would be if you were to just drop in the new cams.

BuyImports
12-05-2003, 10:37 PM
well, now i know what stealing a thread is and i apologize, i didn't mean to do it, i won't again. also, thanks for the info on cam gears

cuba3377
12-12-2003, 12:17 AM