Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

need a lil help for a s15

raab
10-20-2003, 03:17 PM
hey guys and gals, im looking for a nice s15 kit. im looking for one that the hood is not attached and there is a engine. spoiler or no spoiler wont matter because i will be adding a new one. im not new to making models so and dificulty is welcome. can some one move me on to the right way to find one. so far i have made a tamiya skyline but i didnt like it because of no engine. i love doing engines to cars. can some one let me know because im new to model companys. i only know fujimi tamiya and revell monogram. thanks for the help

hirofkd
10-20-2003, 04:05 PM
You don't have any choice, as far as S15 is concerned. Only Fujimi makes the S15 body in several decal variations, except limited edition tuners and Veilside. Fujimi kits aren't known for quality, and it requires more than basic body prep. Also, there's no engine for S13, S14 and S15.
Cutting the hood from the body is easy, and you only need a sharp hobby knife and 30min of concentration. If you get one of those photo etched saw, it'll save more time. Some people put the RB26 from Tamiya's R32 GT-R kit.I assume the Skyline you made was either R33 or R34, and they are indeed less challenging. Try R32 or Supra, which has a full engine detail. Also, RX-7 R1 kit has the 13B.

I"d suggest making Tamiya kit with engine for the next two or three projects, because you have less corrections to worry about. Then, Revell/Monogram, Aoshima, and Hasegawa, if you find anything interesting, because each company has its own favorite subjects. After that, Fujimi and AMT/ERTL, because they tend to requite more thorough body prep and test fitting.

Just make use of this forum, and ask for opinions about a specific kit, before you buy.

Also, don't forget to read FAQ and How-to pages.

raab
10-20-2003, 05:31 PM