Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

B20 Swap Help

MtnCRX
10-13-2003, 08:37 PM
Im planning to do a all motor b20 vtec swap in my 90 Crx Si. Im still pretty new to the whole car tuning world, so this will be in 6 months to a year. Most of my knowledge has been from LOTS of reading in the past 3 months or so, but finding b20 swap info isnt easy. Ive decided on the b20b block with a b16a vtec head/ecu. Does the b16a ECU need to be modded? If it doesn't should I do it anyway? If so, what company would be good to do this?(DINAN, Spoon, Mugen etc?) ANother question I have is about the intake manifold. Would the b20b intake manifold be the best or should I go with something else? WHat is the difference between the JDM intake manifold and the USDM intake manifold? What kind of injectors should I put in with it? What about aftermarket pistons/rods/cams? One last question is about the tranny. WHat is the optimal tranny to match it with? I know I need a B series, and have been hearing a lot about the GSR tranny, but need better info. Sorry about the long post but Im really looking to build this thing up, and have been planning for about 3 months now so Id appreciate any advice or websites you can give me. Thanks a lot.

P.S. If youre gonna wail on me, just make it short.

MtnCRX
10-14-2003, 05:37 PM
Me again.. I found out the intake manifold is too tall to clear the hood, so which one would be best to match the b20? Also, Ive read that the CRX SI ecu can be programmed to work with the B-series swap. Is this true?

maxspeedhonda
10-14-2003, 07:52 PM