Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

good paint shops in LA?

filmfiend81
07-22-2003, 11:40 AM
I know the first thing I'm going to hear is "look in the phone book" but I'm not asking if you know if they exist, I just want any recommendations. I've got a 2000 LX sedan that's "Iced Teal". I'm looking to paint black. Any suggestions?

Thanx, --Taylor

CivicLx
07-23-2003, 04:37 AM
hmm...do you just want any shop or a shop that's well known in the import scene? I'd suggest 20/20 Autobody in Industry, JT Auto in...I think Rosemead, Body Pros in...I forget...Auto Explosion in Gardena or DC Autoworks. I had my car painted at 20/20. I'm no paint expert so I was real happy with how the car turned out.

All these shops are VERY involved with the import scene and are responsible for helping create some of the hottest show cars out there.

How soon do you want to get it painted? Are you having any other body work done at the same time?

SilverY2KCivic
07-23-2003, 01:26 PM
Oh yes, 20/20 for sure! I'm not sure where they are located at exactly, but I've heard nothing but good things about them. I would NOT recommend JT Autostyle at all. I know a friend whom got her Integra painted there, then when she needed a repaint of a section, they fucked up her paint job completely.

CivicLx
07-23-2003, 01:38 PM
Don't listen to Silver...he doesn't know whaaat he's talking about...and he's kind of fruity

hehe...j/p man:biggrin:

He's right though. 20/20 is really well known for their paint jobs.
As for JT, that sucks they messed up your friend's paint job. JT seems to be more into the crazy body work. Like if you were going to have some wild stuff done, I'd suggest taking it to JT, but then having it painted at 20/20. 20/20 is expensive though...real expensive...the only negative thing I ever heard about them was that they can take awhile getting cars done. My car was there for over six months, but I was in Japan at the time so it wasn't a big deal.