Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

94 civic b18c5 swap?

zacharyaus
07-17-2003, 01:18 PM
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to this stuff.
I will have my 94 civic soon and since it'll probably have around 100K on it I wanted to put a new b18c5 into it.
I was wondering how much the engine + the installation would cost plus anything else I will need.

any suggestions against this would be find since I am not tottally set on this I just have a few thousand to burn and I though this would be the best thing to do.

Thanks alot,
Zack

whtteg
07-17-2003, 04:43 PM
Well as much as i like seeing B18C5's in civics I would have to tell you it is not worth it. Don't get me wrong it is a great motor but rather pricey also. It would probably run you from $5k to $6 and it would be a stock B18C5. For that much you could have a modded B18C1 or a biult turbo B18B1 pushing down some real hp. I think the motor would be better siuted for a show car IMO

zacharyaus
07-17-2003, 08:55 PM
Ya, I did a little more reasearch on it and found out how much it's really gonna be for a b18c5 :eek7:

Cool, the b18b1 looks good with 140hp and 120lb's.

Do you know somewhere online I could look to find out how much these swaps are gonna cost?

After I get the civic I'll have a around $3500 to spend on mods so if I should be spending my money somewhere else I would appreciate any suggestions...I don't even have the civic yet so any suggestions are fine :)

Thanks

iroibeirt
07-17-2003, 09:00 PM
if ur planning on turbo-ing ur car, get the b18c1

otherwise, i recommend you save up more money and go for the full b18c5 swap,

i recently rode in a 96 hatch with a b18c5 and supporting mods, and a few grand invested into his suspension, it was by far one of the sweetest cars i've ever ridden in, hes running low 13s with intake, test pipe, exhaust, HKS cam gears, higher compression pistons, and some more stuff, very fast and nice car

whtteg
07-17-2003, 09:35 PM