Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

should i buy my 16 year old kid a 1986 mazda rx-7?

darthlinux42
07-09-2003, 04:58 AM
Hi,
I was wondering if it is a good idea to but my 16 year old son a 1986 Mazda RX-7 for his first car. It's a used car and it's being sold for $1300. Is this a good idea and is it a good price?
Thank You

Jetts
07-09-2003, 05:02 AM
is it n/a or turbo?

cause if it is n/a i dont see a problem with it
im sorry i cant help you on the price thing, not really priced a rx7

but if it is an n/a i think it wont be bad for your 16 year old
my first car when i was 16 was faster then a n/a rx7 and im still living lol

sorry i wasnt much help

darthlinux42
07-09-2003, 05:04 AM
i don't think it's a turbo, how much speed does a turbo add to a car?

Jetts
07-09-2003, 05:19 AM
Originally posted by darthlinux42
i don't think it's a turbo, how much speed does a turbo add to a car?

im not an expert, but it will be a big difference
and from the expericence of driving my friends dodge daytona turbo, it really isnt the speed, turbos like to pull when shifting and punching the gas and if you cant control this or not expecting it, it could cause an accident

13BDriver
07-09-2003, 11:33 AM
Well, if you are buying a 1986 RX-7 for you kid for a first car for 1300 and expecting it to be reliable, that's def. not a good idea. When I was 16 I bought a 1988 RX-7 n/a for $2300 and I put 3 engines in it within one year. If you buy an RX-7 and want it to be reliable, either find one with a rebuilt engine, rebuild the one that is in the car, or buy a rebuilt engine for the car if you want it to be reliable. I was on a tight budget and had to keep buying used RX-7 engines.