Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

alignment problems, pulls to the right.

rcweston
06-17-2019, 11:08 PM
1988 s-10 2wd 2.5l basic.
This truck has been a dream, always drove straight and true. Until drove up over a curb to load a tree. It took a little bounce to do it, after that, my alignment is skewed.
The toe in is correct, but something else is wrong. It continually pulls to the passengers side and the steering wheel needs to turn to the left to keep it straight.
I measured from front rim to back rim on both sides, there is about 1/4 inch difference from one side to the other. This concerns me!! the rear end is fixed.
Looking underneath I don't seem to see a problem, but I am not a pro, but have some background in repairs, not alignment or front ends. It could easily be staring at me an I not know it. I can repair much if I have the info. tools are not a problem. Every task is a learning experience for me.
With so much experience and knowledge on this forum, I hope someone can guide me in the right direction.
Ive looked diligently for specs but haven't found them.
Does anyone have specs for caster, camber and toe-in. or any other knowledge that would certainly help out. What to look for and how to evaluate the problem.
The truck runs like a champ and never gives me any trouble. It is old and things arn't as if they were new. But I like it. 144k miles.

maxwedge
06-18-2019, 07:00 AM
Obviously something changed, afterwards was the steering wheel itself offcenter? Without proper alignment equipment you really can't tell what the problem is. Camber is the most common cause of pulling issues assuming tires are ok. 1/4" wheelbase variation is not an issue unless it changed. How do you know the toe is correct?

CapriRacer
06-18-2019, 07:52 AM
Alignment Specs:

Caster: 2.0° ± 0.5°
Cross Caster: 0.0° - 0.5°

Camber: 0.8° ± 0.5°
Cross Camber: 0.0° - 0.5°

Toe: 0.3° ± 0.2° (5/32" ± 3/32")