Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

70 c10 drum brakes not coming off

Jacobswift70c10
03-21-2016, 10:57 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to this whole forum thing so forgive me if I did something wrong. So I've begun restoring my grandpas 1970 Chevy c/10 but I can't seem to get the brake drums to budge. I tried several cans of lubricant and even beat on one with a sledge hammer till the outside broke off. But the front face of the drum still won't come off. Any suggestions on how to remove them?

maxwedge
03-22-2016, 06:18 AM
Well they are ruined now, try some heat around the flange area of the drum, stuck to the hub's I assume not the linings.

Schurkey
03-22-2016, 03:14 PM
I can't seem to get the brake drums to budge. I tried several cans of lubricant and even beat on one with a sledge hammer till the outside broke off. But the front face of the drum still won't come off. Any suggestions on how to remove them?
Maybe you shouldn't be working on vehicles, especially safety-sensitive areas like brakes.

Jacobswift70c10
03-22-2016, 03:26 PM
Maybe you shouldn't be working on vehicles, especially safety-sensitive areas like brakes.

I'm sorry I didn't ask whether or not I should be working on it I was just asking for a suggestion on removing the drum. I read that hitting it with a hammer is a common solution to removing them if they're seized up and I obviously just hit it too many times because part of the DRUM, not the whole assembly, broke off. I only did this on one drum. I tried to adjust the brakes as well but that wasn't enough. I'll try heating them like the other guys suggested.

777stickman
03-22-2016, 10:23 PM