Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Question about disabling 4x4 on 2000 Jimmy NP8 with driveshaft removed?

OldJimmy4.3
08-08-2015, 11:26 AM
I've read many threads about 4x4 problems & operation, but since my driveshaft has been removed, I can't relate them to my situation.
I guess what I want to know is if there is a best way to disable 4x4 operation to keep the truck in 2 wheel drive & prevent the TCCM from trying/interfering, since that's what I feel is happening. (I'm just learning about this stuff tho, so what do I know?)

Background:
I had trans rebuilt a couple years ago after I lost reverse & was taking off in 3rd gear, according to repair shop notes. Also had a code P0758 for 2-3 Shift Solenoid Valve Electrical at the time.
About a month prior to that, I had tried to engage 4wheel drive but when I hit the 4Hi button, the 2Hi button light went off for a second, but came back on so no luck. The trans guy suspected the transfer case & thought he could fix that too, so I picked up a used one from a nearby used parts place.
He couldn't get it to work & think he suspected the actuator after trying, so he ended up just leaving off the drive shaft due to the amount of work, extra cost to me to get the transfer case back off. Ever since, my "service 4 wheel drive" on dash stays lit, but I'm pretty sure, the 2wheel drive button has been also always stayed lit.