Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Head gasket repair additives,

tempfixit
04-22-2014, 12:08 PM
I have a 98 Windstar with 243K and I believe I have a bad head gasket or cracked head. 3.0 Vulcan engine. The tail pipe is clean telling me that I am burning coolant and the level does go down very, very slowly.

Question is what head gasket additives does everyone recommend, thermagasket, steel seal, etc.

I do not have the time currently to do the repair correctly.

thanks

Larry

12Ounce
04-22-2014, 02:10 PM
I'm sorry, but I think "Elbow Grease" is the only effective additive...chemical or otherwise.

phil-l
04-23-2014, 07:45 AM
Well - it isn't the "right" fix, but I've had some good experiences with Bar's Leaks. I once used it to delay dealing with a friend's outrageously-difficult-to-get-to heater core. The infamous coolant smell disappeared from the car, and no more moisture on the windshield. That was several years ago; last I heard, it's still working...

tempfixit
04-23-2014, 11:32 AM
I did smell antifreeze about a month ago but have not lately.

I have used bars leak before but I do not like that it plugs heater cores. I am thinking of getting some sodium silicate and trying that. I need to do some testing to make sure I am getting gases in the coolant and which cylinder it is.

I know replacing gaskets and checking heads and surfaces is the best fix but right now it is not a good time for me to do the repair.

Any other opinions greatly appreciated.

phil-l
04-23-2014, 12:15 PM
Note that Bar's Leaks has several products - at least one of which contains sodium silicate. One may be a good match for your situation. I looked here for info:

http://barsproducts.com/catalog/brand/all/component/cooling

jerryg2112
04-23-2014, 12:35 PM