Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Car dying

RomanCA
01-29-2014, 02:11 PM
Hi,

First, let me say that I am very new to cars, and don't really know a whole lot. Started driving barely two years ago.

I have a 1994 Corolla, and it's at 107,000 miles now.
Recently it stalled on the freeway, and I had to put in $600 to replace the distributor. That's what they told me that it needed at Firestone.

They also told me that the gasket valve cap is leaking and that the sync belts are worn out and may stall it again any time soon. I don't currently have the $ to fix those two issues, so I only paid for the distributor.

I have no knowledge of automotive maintenance, and so can't verify that the information is correct.

I noticed that the car shakes much more now, but it could be just my being more sensitive and paranoid.

Today, I started driving to work, but noticed that when I am stopped at a red light, the break pedal sends a strange vibration occasionally.

I don't know what could be causing this, but I decided not to risk it and just return home. I don't know if the car is safe to drive anymore.

I am now facing a dilemma. I can either go and repair the gasket valve cap and the sync belts for another $300 or so after I get the next paycheck, or I can look for a replacement car to buy. I am not sure I can afford even a used vehicle now. On the other hand, if I just repair my car, it may die soon anyway, and it will be money lost.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Brian R.
01-29-2014, 06:08 PM
I think they were trying to sell you a valve cover gasket (AKA head cover gasket) and accessory belts.