Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1st Studio 27 Model, have questions

The 3rd Placer
07-21-2013, 01:52 PM
Hello,

I'm a experienced model builder in other areas (tanks and aircraft), but not much in cars.

I found a S27 kit I really want to build and have some questions.

1. is it necessary to clear coat the turned aluminum wheels?

2. The resin headlights are yellowed, is there a way to make them usable.

Kit is the 1/24 Nissan GTP-ZXT.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Ryan

Hemi Killer
07-21-2013, 03:38 PM
All I know is that for clear resin that yellows, you may be able to fix it with a polishing compound, or a very light sanding then polishing compound. I have done this outside of the modelling world, but I'm sure it will work the same.

machined aluminum can smudge and smear easily, clear coating is probably just to protect them and keep them clean. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

racer93
07-22-2013, 08:51 AM
All I know is that for clear resin that yellows, you may be able to fix it with a polishing compound, or a very light sanding then polishing compound. I have done this outside of the modelling world, but I'm sure it will work the same.

machined aluminum can smudge and smear easily, clear coating is probably just to protect them and keep them clean. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
I've honestly never heard of clearing turned pieces. I've heard people clearing white metal parts but I have never done it and have never had any problems. Who knows who's right...I don't! I just don't see any benefit.

RonCla
07-22-2013, 10:18 PM
I've never clear coated any of the aluminum rims in the multi media kits I've purchased nor any of the rims I've machined myself.

Pieces I've polished decades ago are still shining the same today.

You may have to look for replacements for your headlights.

MidMazar
07-25-2013, 11:53 PM