Page updated on 11-19-2017

Any detail parts for the 1983 Kenny Roberts YZR500?

Hemi Killer
04-16-2013, 09:23 PM
I just got this kit, Tamiya's Kenny Roberts 1983 YZR500 and I am having trouble finding detail parts and kits specifically for this bike. Does anyone know if they are out there?

If not, what generic parts can I use to detail this kit? Chains, sprockets, etc?

I've never built a bike before, so if you guys could help me out with a list of what I should have I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

iceracer1
04-17-2013, 10:48 AM
as far as I know there isn't any detail kit for this modelkit. So you have to use regular detailing parts from HobbyDesign, MFH, TunerModel or other brands that make 1/12 detail parts like bolts and other parts.

Kris.

Zonic2001
04-17-2013, 03:23 PM
You can also adapt other PE stuff from other bikes to yours. I have used spare PE parts from one bike to supplement another. But since this is your first bike... iceracer is correct. Many PE manufacturers including USA vendors sell PE bolt/rivet heads and full metal bolts/rivets you can use on your moto parts such as engine and/or cowlings. Also, TopStudio and other manufacturers make chains for 1/12 scale motos... you can adapt them to your model. Chains are very difficult to built... I don't do many... too time consuming. I have built about a dozen of bikes and just entered my first contest, won the motorcycle category in addition of best automobile with a bike.... let me know if you have further questions.

This is the good thing about modeling, you can adapt and/or make new pieces for any model. :)

Hemi Killer
04-17-2013, 04:10 PM
I don't want to go crazy, i will consider a PE chain, but I don't know enough about bikes to know how to adapt other PE sets. I will stick with the generic stuff for now.

what I need help with is knowing which rivet/bolt head sets to get. I don't know what sizes I need. Or can you recommend a PE sheet that might work?