Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

4L60E Shifting Problem in '99 Suburban

V-8Fan
03-30-2013, 01:58 PM
I have a shifting problem that's got me stumped. I'm not a transmission expert by any means, but I twisted some wrenches and have a pretty good understanding of mechanical stuff. I have excellent understanding of electrical/electronic stuff, that's my profession (I am an avionics tech).

Here's the sequence and description of events:

1. started seeing occasional P0758 codes but was able to clear the code and drive; I was clearing the code as I drove to see when it was being thrown

2. condition worsened and the code would reappear when coming to a stop, seemed to be logged when transmission went into first gear

3. then the code began to appear anytime the transmission was taken out of "park"

4. so I replaced the shift solenoid B

5. it looked like everything was okay, BUT

6. P0758 appeared again one time on the way up the driveway after the road test---hoping it was just some kind of glitch, I cleared the code again

7. What I am seeing now is late shifting from 2 to 3, under moderate to heavy acceleration the tranny seems to go from 2 to neutral

8. under light acceleration the 2 to 3 shift is late and a bit sluggish and sometimes brings on P0758, sometimes not.

MY thoughts are that there is a valve shaft sticking in the shift body and this caused to first solenoid to fail, but I'm in way over my head here. I don't want to do another thing until I have a good reason to do so. :nono:

I have an exploded view of the valve body and it doesn't look all that complex, but the ignorant never see the nuances.:confused:

So, does anyone have any expert advice for me?

V-8Fan
03-30-2013, 02:19 PM
One more detail: the 2 to 3 lateness and sluggishness was not apparent until I put the new 2-3 solenoid in (solenoid B).

j cAT
03-30-2013, 04:09 PM
One more detail: the 2 to 3 lateness and sluggishness was not apparent until I put the new 2-3 solenoid in.