Page updated on 12-14-2017

1986 chevy caprice

Caprice1986
02-18-2013, 09:00 PM
hey guys im new to this . this is my first caprice and it is a 1986 chevy caprice. i think my transmission is going out because when it gets to hit 2 gear once it goes into 2 the car tugs and goes.im guessing i need a new transmission but i do not know what kind of trans. my motor my mechanic and a search i did said that it is a 5.0 v8 4bbl and it does have a carberator on it. can you guys help me on this please and thank you

j cAT
02-19-2013, 10:34 AM
hey guys im new to this . this is my first caprice and it is a 1986 chevy caprice. i think my transmission is going out because when it gets to hit 2 gear once it goes into 2 the car tugs and goes.im guessing i need a new transmission but i do not know what kind of trans. my motor my mechanic and a search i did said that it is a 5.0 v8 4bbl and it does have a carburetor on it. can you guys help me on this please and thank you

with a 4speed auto you would have a 700R4 . this is a transmission even new is with issues. the th350 a 3 speed automatic was very strong for a vehicle of this weight and was used at an earlier time.

I would bring to a transmission shop experienced with this old transmission. you could have a even lower quality transmission in it . this would be to 200R4.

GM used a 305 CU engine. this was designed and used as a lower cost replacement to the 5.7L 350 cu engine. the 350 cu is the strongest more reliable power plant .

check the fluid levels when the transmission is warmed up driving it for several miles . make sure its just below the fill mark, being this old you will require a complete rebuild. parts are available to overcome the weak parts GM used to improve reliability . cost will be about $2,ooo.

Blt2Lst
02-19-2013, 01:10 PM