Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Mercedes Silver color

TWG3
02-16-2013, 01:43 PM
Hello all
I'm relatively new to auto modeling. Building my second car ever.
I have Revell of Germany's Mercedes SLS and want to paint it silver.
The Testors German Metallic Silver I have has too much metallic flake in it.
Any suggestions on a more realistic silver color for the SLS and Merc's in general? Enamel or Acrylic

Thanks
Tim

Savannah, Ga.

stevenoble
02-16-2013, 01:57 PM
You could always pass the silver you have through some fine mesh (paint filter, stocking etc) and this would remove some of the flake and make it appear finer. Most model paints and in fact auto paint used to paint models has much too large a flake to look realistic..

TWG3
02-16-2013, 02:22 PM
Thanks Steve
I'll give it a try

Tim

wadny
02-16-2013, 09:25 PM
The Testors line of Metallizer paints are very fine-grain metallics in a variety of shades. I've used the aluminum for painting the body of a Sauber C9 race car model, and it turned out great. Shot clear over the top and got a nice, glossy finish. Tamiya has some nice silver shades in their TS line of spray paints as well. Alclad's lacquers should also work.

TWG3
02-16-2013, 10:19 PM
Well Steve
I was going to strain the German Metalic Silver, but when I went to open it, it was more like sludge. And since there are no hobby shops with in 75 miles of Savannah... Well.
But when I sat back and took a look at my 48th scale P-47's a thought came to me... Metalizer!!
Then Wadny replied with trying metalizer.
I found some steel metalizer and shot the SLS with it, and after some slight polishing and a shot of sealer I think it looks ok. I'll gloss clear sometime Sunday.
Let me know what you think

Thanks for your replays

Tim
Savannah, Ga.

TWG3
02-16-2013, 10:24 PM
O yeah...
While I was pondering my problem, FedEx showed up with my Fujimi SLS F1 Saftey Car and Tamiya RedBull RB6.
So I jumped on the Saftey car insted of the Revell.De SLS. :biggrin: