Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1989 Pontiac will not start.

Dethincarn
01-14-2013, 09:38 PM
It's a 1989 Pontiac 6000 LE

Hi! Created an account for some help with a constant worsening car issue. I appreciate any help that can be provided.

I am no mechanic. Most people I have asked are telling me that it is an electrical problem of sorts, I know that it could be at least anything related to the wiring, the alternator, or the even something as simple as the battery. I guess my best bet is to describe the situations in which I experienced these problems.

Here goes:

February 2011, myself and a group of friends drove about 17.3 miles to see a movie. Upon arriving with no issues along the way I parked the car and went inside. When leaving I came out to start it and nothing was happening as I turned the key over. No sounds, only the regular lights on the dash. After a few minutes of nervous waiting I decided to try all over and it started with no issues. This was highway driving and the weather was humid, it stormed very severely later that night.

In October of 2011 I encountered a similar issue when I was going out to warm it up for work. Except I hadn't even driven it that day. Nothing, I had to hitch a ride. Upon returning, it started up just fine.

November of 2012, I drove to a local Gamestop. It was approximately 4 miles, I stopped the car, went inside for maybe ten minutes and when we returned the car did the same thing, nothing would happen when we turned it over. Just the normal dashboard lights. We called someone and before the even got there it started up again.