Page updated on 11-18-2017

zero paints 2 k clear turning yellow?

tpliquid
08-13-2012, 09:19 PM
I bought some 2k clear form hiroboy and this is my first time using it. Im not sure if i mixed it right or not but some parts of the model have yellow some is crystal clear. Is it my mixing?

Tamm85
08-14-2012, 03:42 PM
(https://www.google.ee/search?hl=et&client=firefox-a&hs=DZ3&rls=org.mozilla:et:official&sa=X&ei=6qkqUKDoPJTT4QTt8YDoBw&ved=0CEUQvwUoAQ&q=Quantity+was+right+%3F&spell=1&biw=1920&bih=906)Quantitys was right ? did you mix it 2 parts clear, 1part hardener and 0,1-0,3 part thinner ?

darcyrossi46
08-17-2012, 07:09 AM
ive been using this for quite a while now with no issues of it going yellow.

the first time i used it i had some contamination issues, it is pretty sensitive to this.

i would guess either mixed in wrong quantity as previous post said or more likely contamination from either mixing beaker, pipette or from airbrush itself.

i make sure i always use brand new eveything when i mix it!

hope this helps

crisjr
08-17-2012, 08:21 AM
Do you have photos??.. I work only with automotive paints and what happen often is that when you work with models that the body comes in red is a reaction from the red tint used to paint the plastic.. to avoid this reaction i always use silver as base right after the primer to seal the red body, then you can apply the color chosen and later the clear coat.

btw .. what color are you using to paint?

tpliquid
08-17-2012, 12:48 PM
Thanks guys.. I think it was a dirty airbrush + bad mixing. I cleaned everything up and did right mixature and now its all clear.

I was painting it on white surface before. All good now!

tpliquid
08-20-2012, 12:13 PM