2003 Toyota Camry LE 4-cylinder brake problem

Paola
11-22-2011, 06:24 PM
I have a 2003 Toyota Camry LE 4-cylinder sedan. I've had the front brake rotors machined (due to warping). I've had the rear brake drums resurfaced. The problem still exists. I don't know when it's going to happen. So, all I can do is explain what happens when the problem occurs. (1) I press the brake to stop (at a traffic light or stop sign). Fast and slow speeds make no difference. (2) About halfway into the brake press, there is pedal feedback/vibration and a noise. The break pedal feels like it's going through the motions of what an interlocking clock gear looks like as it moves to keep time. There is also a groaning/creaking noise and it seems as though the car lurches forward. (3) By the time the brake is pressed down completely, it feels like braking control has been regained. Also, no brake indicator light goes on. Does this make any sense? Please bear with me as I'm no car expert. Thanks.

Mike Gerber
11-23-2011, 12:40 PM
Did you have this problem before you had the front rotors machined and the rear drums resurfaced? If not, I would take the car back to whoever did the work tell them about the problem.

Mike

Paola
11-24-2011, 12:12 AM
Did you have this problem before you had the front rotors machined and the rear drums resurfaced? If not, I would take the car back to whoever did the work tell them about the problem.

Mike