Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Front brakes overhual

BOX CHEV
09-27-2011, 12:25 PM
I have a 88 Caprice, its been sitting in the garage for a few months now maybe 5-6. I'm about to pull it out to awake this big hog. Its a very low mileage car(haven't even hit 50k on it yet, all O.G. miles/motor)

I have plans to clean up all the suspension and re-grease whatever needs it. Oil change etc. The usual tune up and flush radiator etc.

Now as far as brakes go(disc brakes specific) I have never done before.

The rotors are not in the best condition so I will be replacing those. Probably could just have them machined but new stock rotors aren't that much, so I'll spend my money on whatever is needed to stop, no skimping. Probably go with semi-metallic brake pads. Should I change the brake hoses for shits and giggles too since I'm there? Anything else I should do besides repack the bearing(BTW how exactly should I go about that)

Did a search the other day on here for "brakes" in caprice section and read a few threads. I've watched a ton of videos on youtube about brake and rotor installation. And I'm decently mechanically inclined, so I'm confident I can take it on. Almost anything needing to be done to my cars I do myself.

Pads and Rotors I been looking at from different places, wondering if anyone has any experience from using any of these parts.

O'Reilly's

Rotor
BrakeBest Select - Brake Rotor And Hub Assembly Part # 5032RGS $36.99 Each (http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/BBR0/5032RGS.oap?year=1988&make=Chevrolet&model=Caprice&vi=1037102&ck=Search_rotors_C0062_1037102_3184&keyword=rotors&pt=C0062&ppt=C0009)

BrakeBest Select - Brake Rotor And Hub Assembly Part # 5040RGS $31.99 Each (http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/BBR0/5040RGS.oap?year=1988&make=Chevrolet&model=Caprice&vi=1037102&ck=Search_rotors_C0062_1037102_3184&keyword=rotors&pt=C0062&ppt=C0009)

Brake Pads