Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

05 Accord Ex heater core is leaking (I think)

Pawl
09-24-2011, 02:41 PM
118,000mi update - Everything is Honda Genuine parts - I just changed radiator and radiator cap, thermostat, water pump, upper/lower radiator hoses,all heater hoses,coolant,serpentine belt,belt tensioner. I am a preventative type person. I travel alone around the USA and I would rather change this stuff at home and not have to worry. I had no problems with car before I did all theses changes.
Is the heater core possibly the weak link in all of this and has a small leak. I saw where the blue coolant was leaking on the carpet on the passenger side down by where your feet would rest or basically under the heater core. I also found the overflow reservor low so I topped it off and have not drove more than 25 miles and reservoir is low again and more blue coolant is on the carpet. I have been a typical backyard mechanic for the last 45 yrs. I thought I read something in the Haynes manual that made me think I might have to deal with the A/C when I go to replace this heater core. And would everyone agree that it sounds like the heater core? Thanks Guys. Any thoughts?

jgr7
09-24-2011, 06:17 PM
118,000mi update - Everything is Honda Genuine parts - I just changed radiator and radiator cap, thermostat, water pump, upper/lower radiator hoses,all heater hoses,coolant,serpentine belt,belt tensioner. I am a preventative type person. I travel alone around the USA and I would rather change this stuff at home and not have to worry. I had no problems with car before I did all theses changes.