Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Not starting - cylinders "washed down"

jacobimIII
09-21-2011, 01:53 PM
My '99 Audi A4 wasn't starting so I took it in a few days ago. After confirming the starter, battery, etc. were fine, my mechanic took it apart to look at the engine because they did a timing belt last year. They found no problems with the timing belt but were a little confused to find the cylinders "washed out" as they called it. I asked what that meant and he said the cylinders didn't have appropriate oil and they weren't sealing. He asked if the car had been sitting for a long time and I said no because I drive it every day and get regular oil changes.

They are doing some testing today on temperature sensing and other things.

I've been using a fuel additive for a few months to test it. It's made by h2oil and it's supposed to improve fuel economy by allowing the fuel to burn more completely which also creates lower emissions and less buildup in the engine from incomplete burn. It's supposed to create a steam cleaning effect that gets rid of build up inside the engine. So I'm wondering if in addition to cleaning out fuel deposits in the engine, did it also wash out the oil. Is this possible? I only have a basic understanding of how engines work and I though oil is continually dispersed throughout the engine while it's running. My mechanic didn't say the oil in the pan was totally gone. It just wasn't on the cylinder walls. What do you make of this?

My mechanic isn't really good at explaining things but I do trust him. That's why I'm asking the question here.

Tony Silva
09-21-2011, 06:07 PM