Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1988 Grand Marquis, bombed smog test followed by stalling issue...

egosumdeus13
06-17-2011, 04:32 PM
I was given a 1988 Mercury Grand Marquis by some family members, and when I went to get the smog test some weird things happened. First of all, my family members drove it about six hours to get it to me and had no issues. Second of all, they did some routine maintenance on it prior to giving it to me, (oil change, air filter change, etc.) And thirdly, the vehicle has been registered in California since it was purchased, so it has never failed a smog test, and the most recent one was about six months before they gave me the car.

So, I drove the car up to get the smog test before I registered it, (about three miles), and it seemed to be driving alright. (I'm used to driving a 2005 Tacoma with less than thirty thousand miles on it, so I'm a little new to driving older, almost "clunker" cars, but it seemed okay.)

I parked and talked to the technician, he told me to bring the car into the garage. I pulled it in, parked, and shut the engine off. He told me I could leave it running, so I started it back up and got out. He walked me through the cost real quick, took the registration info, then the car stalled. He started it up, hooked the smog test gear up to it, and started the test. It seemed like he had to have his foot on the gas during the idling test, and when he took his foot off the gas at the end of the test it stalled. He ran the test twice, I think, and it failed both times.

He then moved the car further into the garage and performed the test where he screws the thingie on the gas tank, (I'm not mechanically inclined nor do I have knowledge whatsoever of what the smog tests are...). Anyway, after that, he went to back the car out of the garage, but it stalled every time he shifted into reverse, so he revved it up, slammed it into reverse real quick and peeled out. When he parked, it stalled.