Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

carbon fiber help - complicated shape

bri g
01-31-2011, 08:52 PM
before I get stoned for not checking the FAQs and tutorial, I actually have gone though all of them here, in SPC and at Brian's model car site. the tutorials always looks so easy :) I tried the masking tape template method and I just can't seem to cover this item properly without warping the carbon decal pattern. I hope you guys can give me an advice if this piece can actually be covered in a one piece carbon fiber or am I better of splitting it up into 4 pieces or so? thanks in advance!

part in question is the Aston Martin DBS rear diffuser:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/CRV18s/models/IMG_2285.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/CRV18s/models/IMG_2284.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/CRV18s/models/IMG_2283.jpg

BVC500
01-31-2011, 09:07 PM
I'm not experienced enough with CF, and want to start getting more experience, and CF parts like the DBS rear diffuser. I don't know how the pros do it! I can barely get my Scalemotorsport CF to lay down on any surface during my practice runs! I'm baffled.

bri g
01-31-2011, 09:14 PM
I'm with you BVC500, I'm doing okay with big flat surfaces like car hoods but with a complex shape like this, no success. i've already wasted a ton of carbon fiber decal. I've tired museum collection, crazymodeller and scalemotorsports hi definition carbon fiber. no luck on all 3.

BVC500
01-31-2011, 09:40 PM
I do think with this part, you'll have to do the winglets ( or vertical pieces?) separately, then maybe one piece for the areas between the winglets, and another piece for the sides, being careful to line up the pattern.

My question is: for the winglet, do you attach one side first, let it dry, then do another side, etc.? B/c I have a hard time getting all sides to stick at the same time.

bri g
02-01-2011, 01:14 AM