Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Which engine do I use....

knightjp
01-30-2011, 11:01 AM
Yes this another Ford vs GM thread.... but not one that is said to cause an argument.... I'm simply here for information.... I want someplace where the pros and cons are factually highlighted for both.

Since I had the idea of getting an old VW LT and putting an American V8 in it; although I'm almost sold on using a Ford Racing Powerplant, I want to do this right and put in the best engine despite my preferences.
I've been doing a bit of research online; going through various articles and history and the engines of both Ford and GM seem to even each other out.
I'm not a mechanic, so I cannot say which one is better, although I know a few good mechanics who swear that GM engines are better because they are simpler in design and more reliable.
A few others that I spoke to say that the Ford engines are actually better since they don't use up as much oil and even though are little more complex, are just as reliable and are more potent in terms of power....

I know that those who build hot-rods like to use Ford bodies because they are much nicer looking, but use GM powerplants because they are easier to work on (supposedly)...

I have to say that I'm partial to the Ford V8 sound. I think its more tuned sound and very bassy.... Has anyone heard the engine note of a TVR S??? Its heavenly and it uses a Ford 6 cylinder engine.
I like the GM sound and its lovely when mated to a good Magnaflow exhaust, but its not as lusty to me as the Ford V8.

Another thing I'm looking for is a performance engine that uses a timing chain rather an a belt...... So far none of the articles that I've read said that the GM performance engines use chains.... I know that a performance Ford BOSS engine does....

Anyone out there with a simple explanation as to what the actual differences are???

snshddog
01-30-2011, 12:04 PM