Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Detail Master Stuff

JDM Wagon
05-24-2003, 11:08 PM
anyone know where i can find info on how to build some ofthe photo etch stuff detail master makes. their instructions with the kits are very limited and only a drawing. i built one of their racing steering wheels but it looks bad. of course this is my first time using this type of stuff so if anyone has any tips or know where i can find some more thorough insturctions with pics would be great help.

ZoomZoomMX-5
05-25-2003, 07:05 AM
Those parts are meant for experienced builders, so sometimes they forget that inexperienced builders buy them too.

Little photoetched parts are difficult to work with (even for experienced builders), as they can get lost easily, and gluing them can be a nightmare. Stay away from superglue! You can attach small parts with clear acrylic paint, or the thick white glue (canopy glue) that aircraft builders use. Even tiny amounts of epoxy glue are better, since you can clean up excess/glue spots/mistakes with water before it dries. Superglue is dangerous with small photoetch, since it dries instantly between metal and your skin, and basically will end up making a huge mess of your parts and likely your model. You don't want superglue fingerprints on your paint or any of your parts, and it will happen. So use a glue that will clean up with water! I prefer Formula 560 canopy glue, and a lot of guys like Micro Krysal Clear. Don't know if you can get these overseas; though I'm sure there's a product in Japan that works just as well if not better. Regular white glue isn't strong enough. Tamiya acrylic clear is good.