2000 windstar 3.8 van with a 01 motor installed vibrating

naterbug89
01-05-2011, 08:36 PM
okay first post on here so lets see how it goes..
im a full time technician in a do it all shop cuurently i have a 2000 ford windstar with the 3.8 v6 in it.. recently another shop put in a used motor, well the customer called us and told us that the van has been at said shop for 3 weeks and the tech there cant figure it out has been running funny .. so customer dropped it off yesterday i brought it in hooked it up to our snap on verus no codes no data no mode 6 failures so i took it for a long drive ran perfect only thing i notice is a vibration at idle goes away at any rpm over 1000rpms doesnt matter what gear what tempurature parked or waiting at a stop sign the motor vibrates and it shakes the whole car so i started looking around and found that the 2000 & 2001 windstars 3.8s have different balancers and flexplates and dont interchange so i called previous shop and talked to the tech come to find out that when he got his used motor there was no flexplate so he pulled the one off the 2000 motor and put it on the 01 motor so im pretty sure ive found my problem but what is getting me is the vibration goes away after 1000rpms it doesnt get worse like one would think but needless to say the balance is off but i am wanting to talk to a tech somewere who can tell me what the difference is between the 2000& 2001 not sure any help appreciated

grog11
01-06-2011, 11:21 AM
I looked thru the tech manual for vibration at idle and found the following,information, it may help. The torque converter may be out of balance, the drivetrain mounts may not have been neutralized after the engine install, exhaust system connections need relieving.These would be easier to try 1st, than removing the flex plate. My guess would be rotate the torque converter and see how it goes.

Idle vibration—a low-frequency vibration (5-20 Hz) or mild shake that is felt through the seat/floorpan