Replacing heater core - '95 Rodeo

SinistrV6
11-04-2010, 12:35 PM
Just picked this thing up this week. Heater core is presumably bad, since it's been bypassed by a previous owner. I'm a mechanic, so I'm not intimidated by the job of replacing the core but... I can't find much info on how much of the dash I need to remove to access the core. Anyone got any info or a link to info on this job?

BTW, is there a '95 and a '95.5 Rodeo/Passport? What's the difference and how can you tell?

Thanks,
Richard

Cat Fuzz
11-04-2010, 12:39 PM
You should resign yourself to just pulling the whole dash and steering column. I hate heater cores and have never done one in a Rodeo.

A 95 Rodeo has 1st generation interior, a 95 1/2 has updated interior that looks more like a 2nd generation.

SinistrV6
11-04-2010, 02:35 PM
You should resign yourself to just pulling the whole dash and steering column. I hate heater cores and have never done one in a Rodeo.

A 95 Rodeo has 1st generation interior, a 95 1/2 has updated interior that looks more like a 2nd generation.

Thanks, Cat Fuzz. No wonder it's bypassed. Sounds about like doing a heater core in a fox-body Mustang :banghead:! Not fun, but I'm not going w/o heat. I'm assuming you included the column in order to pull the dash out far enough, yes?

Why can't it be as easy as the ones in the Chevy/GMC trucks? Dang, I could swap those out in 30 minutes.

Thanks for the clarification on the 95.5 model. I'll compare some pics to mine to see what I have.

95.5 Rodeo
11-04-2010, 03:14 PM
OK, I'll be a nice guy and scan the pages for you. Here is the procedure for performing a heater core replacement on a 95.5 Rodeo. Yours should be very similar. The flat rate for doing a instrument panel R&R alone is 6 hours, so you will be busy for a while. Have fun!

Good Luck,
Dale

http://s218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/watchdog7/Temp/

SinistrV6
11-04-2010, 03:44 PM