Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Automotive Paint On Fujimi 1/24 Scale

SOLOITR2001
09-24-2010, 01:29 PM
I was wondering if I can recieve good results using automotive paint on my Integra Type R Fujimi 1/24 scale model? I have never used it before and dont want to waste my time and money if it doesnt come out good.

The reason for the automotive paint is because its the exact color I am painting my Type R and really want it to replicate that perfectly in every way.

The color I am going with is Long Beach Blue Pearl (B-510P) from the Acura NSX.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d152/SOLOTR95/P1060744.jpg

ale-o
09-24-2010, 01:33 PM
Just make sure itīs water based and you will be fine. But I think you will have to put clercoat over it since the new automotive paints usualy become matt after they dry.

drunken monkey
09-24-2010, 01:52 PM
Just make sure itīs water based and you will be fine. But I think you will have to put clercoat over it since the new automotive paints usualy become matt after they dry.

not quite.

Automotive paints comes in a couple of forms, one of which is indeed matt base over which you have to apply a clear coat but this is far from the standard as your post seems to suggest.

Most of the time, the paint is what they call an acrylic lacquer which is pretty much what is sold to us model makers in spray cans with differences in formula between different companies.

In other words, it is perfectly safe to use on a model kit and indeed, many of us do use auto supply store paints on model kits.

There are a couple of points to note though.

i) the metallic flake used in paint intended for use on a 1:1 car may be too big for use in 1:24. If the paint is a mica paint, this is less noticeable.

ii) the formula of paint for 1:1 may be a bit hot for use on a plastic kit so test to make sure it doesn't melt/warp/otherwise damage the kit plastic.