Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Need a few tips on Drag racing a stock car

amodoko
09-04-2010, 07:16 PM
I'm totally new to this, and wanted a bit of advice if anyone can offer it. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, I tried to look for comparisons on the threads about my questions and had trouble finding the answer.

Anyways, I'm going to race my buddy at a drag race (probably at Gateway International if they allow us). We both don't race, we are doing this for bragging rights kind of. Best 2 out of 3. I have a 2000 Celica GT-S, completely stock, manual transmission. He has a 2000 Celica GT (has 40 less horsepower stock than my GT-S) that has been modified somewhat.

I've never really sought out the proper way to race a manual transmission. I asked around, and got two main answers:

1) "Drop-clutch shifting"- Don't know if that is the right term. But he basically said I never take my foot off the accelerator and when I shift, I quickly press the clutch in and shift fast, without ever taking my foot off the accelerator. This sounds fine, but won't this do damage to my car? If so, what damage will it cause?

2) Shift and drive normally but just do it all faster- When shifting just push clutch in, shift gear, clutch out and accelerate... but just faster.

Which one is the right method, and what are the pros and cons to each of them? Thanks so much, I've never really raced for real and want to drag race to the best of my abilities. Take care

MagicRat
09-04-2010, 11:49 PM
Well, don't do #1. It's possible to damage the engine by overreving, and exploding your clutch.
Proper race cars have scatter shields to contain an exploding clutch. Your car does not. Clutch debris can easily rip through the clutch housing , damaging the car and possibly hitting you.

Race drivers also have money to repair a car after driving like this. You may not.

#2 is better, but it is hard on the transmission synchros. They will wear out faster when doing this.