Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

do it yourself window tinting

TheNotoriousMogg
05-18-2003, 03:08 PM
Ok guys, I am stationed in Alaska! and in the city of Anchorage their are 2 places that tint windows and it costs around $150-190 to get your windows tinted.

I woud like to save some of my hard earned cheese and do it myself. Can anyone offer any tips on doing this? Is it going to bubble??????? I have plenty of patience and time so I could do it.

What do I need other than tint? a squeege(sp)? a spray bottle?

Thanks

B16EJ1
05-18-2003, 03:14 PM
I thought you dropped off the planet. :hehehe: I suggest you just spend your money and have a pro do it. It can be done but I do not suggest it. Those prices are'nt that bad either.

sparq
05-19-2003, 02:23 AM
Its well worth the $150-190 to have a pro do it.

sickhonda
05-19-2003, 10:18 AM
TheNotoriousMogg,

I'm no expert in window tinting but seen so many done at the local speed shop. Originally wanting to pick up some pointers before doing it on my own ride. I understand that you want to save your hard earned cheese, but having it done by a pro is the most cost effective option.

$150 –190 sounds like a good deal, of course depending on what type film they intend to use. You said it yourself, only two places in your current location, they can easily jack up their prices even more if they want to because of lack of competition.

Doing it yourself is a big pain and it will cost you more for the supply alone. Even the experts have to redo some mistakes they made and that necessitate more film than usual, which means more cheese. No matter how patient you really are, this is not an easy task to tackle, especially when you get to the back window.

If you need more convincing, go to http://forum.gr8tint.com/, and ask the expert. You’ll learn a lot more in this tint forum, as far as, what type film to choose, tips and materials you need for DIY. Most likely, they’ll just talk you out of it.
:bandit:

TheNotoriousMogg