99 Windstar hard to start when hot

Gillbro
04-27-2010, 08:15 PM
I have searched as best I can to see if there was a similar thread on here but didnt find anything.
On my 99 windstar 3.8 after driving in warm or hot weather or extra hard driving after shutting the van down and waiting around 15 minutes I will try to start it up and usually have to feather the throttle to keep it running until 5 to 10 seconds go by then the van runs fine. Sometimes it will set the ever so common 171 and 174 codes but not always. This problem wont happen in the winter or during cool weather. Also I have replaced the intake gaskets, valve cover, and plenum O-ring/bolt kit.

I also replaced the MAF with a used one and replaced the fuel filter neither of these had any affect on the problem.

When watching the data while idling it looks like the long term fuel trim is way up and can reach 20+ percent. I am not a actual mechanic but have a pretty good background but I am totally lost as of right now. Can anyone please help??

12Ounce
04-27-2010, 10:48 PM
There are a number of critical relays that may not be fully energized at start-up ... have you read battery voltage during cranking?

tomj76
04-28-2010, 10:17 AM
I have a similar problem, that I have not yet resolved, but I think I understand it's cause.

I believe that my fuel lines are passing too close to the exhaust lines, or are not properly shielded from the exhaust heat. This is causing the fuel in the lines to boil (vaporize) while the car sits after running. When the the vaporized fuel enters the fuel rail, it throws off the fuel/air mixture, because the injector timing is calibrated for liquid fuel, and the engine runs lean. This leads to high fuel trim readings, and the PCM is trying to correct for the lean condition.